Free Write Fling, October 13, 2007

Migraine Madness II

Kinder gentler migraine? Can you begin to imagine mowing a yard for an hour, deep, deep, wet green and the mower bogging down in the thick and shade of it?

I wish it was a simple as all that. I woke with the migraine from the day before. Saturday, early morning, my jaw was not (yet) tight until anger surfaced in a flash and I was fire. I was clearing boards from the lawn when a comment from Mike changed my course.

The migraine radiates from jaw (TMJ) and ear pain. I have been using hot compresses, rosemary, peppermint, and lavender oil scalp massages and anti-inflammatory drugs and huge doses of coffee. A jaw pop and an earache formed a block of chi over a month ago, only in the last couple of days have I marked any improvement. A two-day migraine had my skull feeling compressed and words will not flow.

Sentences come out garbled and backwards. Worse, I start a thought and then it is gone.

Knowing I wanted to complete work during the migraine due to the weakness that follows, I set out to mow. Sidetracked by anger that needed release–I was back at it in an hour after Hugs, Breath, and Apologies–I turned it around and started on a new foot.

Here I sit writing. Thinking of the message or lesson to all this. Migriane Pain is usually a sign that I need to stop and listen. But now with jaw pain I think the newly added message is to watch my words.

(During the height of the migraine yesterday I took shots, many too blurred and too bright. I will post them soon as part of my commitment to create art during a migraine. I felt a drive starting on Thursday to create, paint, write, and sculpt. The urge was pressing.)

For more information on this Free Write Fling.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 14, 2007, in Freewrite Fling, Migraine Art. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

