Free Write Fling, October 14, 2007

Church Bells

I wake to church bells and the smell of bad woodsmoke. Last night was stuffy so I opened a window to let in a bit of breeze. Now the neighborhood is filled with low woodstove smoke and before rising to close the window I can imagine smoke curling up the hilly street and circling rooftops. The horizon is orange and magenta and the sun breaks the surface of Lake Superior it is 8:05 am. A good day and I hope to maintain the sanctity.

The bells of St. Pete’s Cathedral and Sunday morning mass remind me that I have not meditated and ought to wake and do Yoga or Tai Chi on the shores of blue water. One day my oldest son said to a friend, “My mother is going to hell because she has fallen away from the church.”

My friend replied, ” Your mother is one of the most spiritual woman I know.”

Am I?

Lately, my hope is strong. But I lose center often. I do not walk with softness on the earth. My faith in people wanes as I watch war ravage our world.

I imagine families walking downtown passing the Women’s Center to gather at the Cathedral. Their voices will sing praise and the priest will offer a homily. They will leave refreshed, redied for the week ahead.

Maybe I am in need of a homily. A sermon. A summons to a cause and meaning new to me. Maybe I need a shaman or priest to help me see thru the wood smoke. Stand with a group of like minds on the shore as sun rises and pray for this day, this people, myself.

For more information on this Free Write Fling.
 

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 14, 2007, in Freewrite Fling, Ordinary Day. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

