Free Write Fling, October 19, 2007

Why Journal? 

“Why Journal in a book? Why not loose pages? It is kind of like your life. Wake up every morning, we have to go back to it just the way it was left the night before–being forced to look at mistakes, successes, hopes, hurts–and go on to the next page even when we do not want to. Even when we just want to go out and buy a new book.”

Quote comes from the Creativity Notebook and Card Set, Wide Open, by Randi Feuerhelm-Watts

I journal-as I am a gatherer, storyteller, chronicler. I keep time. I take stock of where I am heading, gauging my progress. My journal holds me accountable. My progress matters.

I show up the next day. Breathe and dive-in.

My journal inspires me and those who get to peek inside.

I use my journal as a resource of facts and sequences of events. At times I jot precise details on place. At times, I sketch. Ephemera. Items found, glued-in, tucked away, exalted or bemoaned. My journal records the temperature and emotions of my life and the environs I visit and live in. My journal fills time when I am bored. it allows me to forget less. Settle down more. And empty out my head fo troubling thoughts that haunt me.

For more information on this Free Write Fling.

How do I feel: This is a short free-write but I feel good, strong, intrigued.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 22, 2007, in Freewrite Fling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

