What I have learned on a garden bench. . .

gardenbench500a.jpg

What I have learned on a garden bench . . .

As the growing season came to a close, I approached an article for the Marquette Food Co-op with the focus of Harvest and Community. Many young farmers are running Community Supported Agriculture farms (CSAs). We are building a thriving Farmer’s Market here in Marquette, and those without acreage or backyards can be allotted a small plot in the Community Garden. I can sit out on the rocks of Founder’s Landing watching sail boats on Wednesday evenings and count my blessings. This town supports creativity no matter what your pursuit. Yet, on a garden bench, my world becomes more focused on the microcosm.

EggplantIt’s the gardens around me bringing me home, centering. What can I grow? What does well? What new discoveries are right here under my feet?

Purple Eggplant bushes are tall, I observe. Green bell peppers grow neatly in the same plot at the Community Garden. I can take this knowledge home to my own. But the lessons are deeper than compatible plantings. A garden has a certain yield and prosperity, so do we in a community or our own home. And our talents, skills and time must be given carefully.

Perhaps as I age I am learning where best to apply my gifts, a positive attribute for a grandmother I think to myself as I sit on the bench watching gardeners move through the weeds of their small plots.

A goal this year (2007) was to focus on giving back to the communities that have fostered my growth, to pursue my “art” with focus, and spend more time with family. I have moved back to a job path where I can be of service and feel strong at the end of a day. As I sit on the bench reflecting on where I am at home, micro-organisms build soil health, and the seeds I am sowing seem to thrive. What yield and prosperity will follow?  I can sit patiently through winter, blanketed by white, and wait for the movement of seasons to reveal the next cycle.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 29, 2007, in Becoming Grandma, Holistic Health, Magic Lands, Nature Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

