Tuesday Twelve-How to Help a Substitute Feel Welcome in Your School

My favorite schools help me feel like a professional. They are welcoming schools that provide me with tools and knowledge. A good school fosters your success.

  • It is useful to have a folder with disciplinary forms, lockdown and drill procedures, phone numbers, extensions and dialing instructions to offices.
  • Name badges, or a badge that identifies you as a substitute teacher or aide allow other staff to greet you and offer guidance and support.
  • Having the principal, vice principal or other designated administrator stop in shows students they are expected to respect, and lets the substitute know they are in a supportive environment.
  • Inform your substitute teachers who does the scheduling and how to update availability, and if an emergency arrives how they can call-in.
  • Greeting the substitute in halls is friendly and sets a tone. Unfortunately, I have been in schools where I walk down the school and no one looks me in the eye.
  • Provide substitutes with your school calendar. This allows subs to prepare for vacation times or attend school concerts and sporting events.
  • Let substitutes know where job postings for the district are posted.
  • Where is the lounge? Where can I put my lunch? Is there a coffee pot?
  • What do you expect of substitutes during prep hours?
  • Is there a staff bathroom near the classroom? Do we get a break? In a grade school that I frequent I get two breaks and a lunch. I love my days there as I pace myself and get a breather.
  • If you are the teacher leaving notes, please let us know what disciplinary tools you use in the classroom and the time students shift subjects, rooms or go to specials.
  • When leaving notes let us know which staff we can turn to in a pinch, and ask them to pop their head in during the course of the day.
About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on February 4, 2008, in Tuesday Twelve and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

