Friday the 13th and a Trip to the Copper Country

Portage Lift Bridge before 10am, Friday the 13th, June 2008, photo by Kim Nixon

I woke Friday morning in a very soft bed. I felt everything was in a hush and I tiptoed around my son’s apartment past his sleeping guests and loaded up my gear for my adventure. I was taking framed and unframed photos to the Copper Country Community Arts Center in Hancock. I headed across the Portage Canal that separates Houghton and Hancock and arrived too early. So, I went for a little walk down to the boardwalk. It was still before 10a.m. but the sun was so brilliant that I could not avoid sun-dots. I was working with Mike’s Canon S5; I had ordered mine before the trip and it was set to deliver on Monday.

Copper Country Community Arts Building, photo by Kim Nixon

Excited nervous, already noticing the first signs of a migraine, I walked into the Copper Country Community Arts Building with a stack of framed and unframed photos. I had an inventory sheet in a folder along with a photo of myself and a biography. I was uncertain to the process but the volunteers and staff made it a smooth process. i learned that the jury would meet on Tuesday and after that I would hear which photos made it in. I browsed the galleries. There is a Youth Gallery, the Kerredge Exhibition Gallery for featured artists, and the Artist’s Market (I am trying to get work into the Artist’s Market).

Lamplight Hancock Michigan, photo by Kim Nixon

The bright sun of the waterfront, early in the morning, was only one trigger for my migraine. In contrast the rest of cooler lighting on a side street, the color green, and the oddness that this light could be on during the bright of day, had me pause. It was one of my calmest moments of the day. The migraine mounted causing me to leave (The Copper Country) sooner than planned. I missed many of the photo opportunities, and had to pull over several times on the drive home to nurse my migraine back so it would be safer to drive. I made it back to Ishpeming and Mike’s office where I sought refuge from movement and light. When he was off work, I followed him home and my migraine cleared by Sunday morning. But as we arrived home, we found a package. My new camera had arrived.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on June 16, 2008, in Contours, Magic Lands, Migraine Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

