More Michigamme

Michigamme Ruins, Fancy Window, photo by Kim Nixon

Michigamme Ruins, Pink Room, photo by Kim Nixon

Michigamme Ruins, Pink House, photo by Kim Nixon

These photos were captured with my DXG 5.1 Megapixel Camera on Memorial Day Weekend. Mike and I went to camp at Van Riper and spent sometime in Michigamme at the Moonshine Gallery and walking through town. I still had not ordered my Canon s5–but Mike had his and I continued to be amazed by the quality and was jealous and wistful of the day I could order mine. Today, I sit waiting for lenses and a hood, my camera bag and other camera paraphernalia. From this time forward I will be sure to tag which camera is taking the shot. I love that I did a show with a camera that cost under 99.00 on sale. But I am very excited to be learning the capabilities of a better camera.

Michigamme is an artistic town full of summer homes and ruins. I was attracted to the decay. The lives of these old buildings. I will have more photos of the area to come soon. I would love to see photos from others snapping shots in the Upper Peninsula or in forgotten towns near you. Leave a comment.

About kimofthenorth

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on June 24, 2008, in Contours, Magic Lands, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment