A Work In Progress

A Work in Progress, photo copyright Kim nixon

“A Work In Progress,” this photo is another gift from my Magic Man. “When I tossed those nails there I didn’t know why and now I do,” Mike said while admiring my rusty nail photos. Here I thought it was the former owner of this cabin who carelessly left nails to rust! But I smiled in acknowledgement, ’cause I too have wondered why I do or don’t do some things. It’s all a work in progress, this life, our art, our relationships.

Sometimes I leave things undone–is it the color combination and texture I like when I leave something out in the rain? Is it cause someone has dreamt it? Do they need to walk past and snap a photo months later? Do they need to bend to tie their shoe and see dead ladybugs in rotten woodwork? Oh some days are gifts and the flow leads us where we need to go.

Other days we are consumed by fear thinking we cannot leave things as they are. We think I need to control this, reign it in, tie it down, put my thumb on it! I woke in fear today and then worked, sludged through, the task of turning it around. How could I take a negative day full of tears and anxiety and turn it into sunshine?

I brought in light, warmth, hot tea, candles, and activity. I looked for the positive and was surprised when I found it! The first surprise was the wonderful comments on my blog and how my stats had gone through the roof in the last 24 hours. Then I thought to connect with others in the ether and got Linkedin. Then as the temperature and attitude of my day went from cold, gray and negative I opened my photo file and began to process images. Soon I had music on and was singing.

How do you approach work in progress when sad and blue?

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 15, 2008, in Abundance, Contours, In My Own Backyard, Verge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

