Birthday Hike–Seize the Day

Seize the Day, Keen Boots in Snowshoes, photo by Kim Nixon

Mike on Snowy Teal Lake Trail, photo by Kim Nixon

Kim in the Distance, photo by Mike Hainstock

Mike Looks Out at the Ridge and Snow Tubers, photo by Kim Nixon

These are the shots I love to share, a combo of both my own and Mike’s. They give a glimpse into our lives that words and stories cannot share. Today was my birthday and where I have been suffering from serious seasonal disorder with symptoms complicated by stress and my own drive to change, today was calm. Like the hush of snow. The laughter over on the next hill. The slient flight of birds. My day was a gift.

Mike I am so blessed to share these moments with you. I think of how many times we are on the trail together, your ability to play, to appreciate the day, scene, moment (even in yet another snowstorm), and I know that you, too, are a gift.

My years with you are filled with magic. Your better than the icing on my 45th birthday cake, baby!

See the digi-captures of Kim on a snowtube taken by Mike at A Winter Journal.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on January 18, 2009, in Abundance, Flow into 2009, Magic Lands, Magic Man, Self Portrait, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hello Kim,
    I know you have no idea who I am but I believe your cousin is Jamie Walker (Smith). She said that you are a photographer in the Brighton area and I am getting married fall 2010. I know it’s a little ways away but I am looking for a photographer and wanted to inquire some information from you. If this is not the right person I am sorry to waste your time.
    Thank You,
    Cassie Folts
    (you can email me back at cfolts01@baker.edu)

  2. I live in Marquette, Michigan in the heart of the Upper Peninsula. Way past the Mackinac Bridge, hours north of Brighton. The name you mentioned does not ring a bell. I come from Nixon, and Matthee families.

  3. So glad you had a Happy, Happy Birthday! Sorry i didn’t breeze by in a more timely fashion.

  1. Pingback: My Birthday–What will I do in the next 45 years? « A Winter Journal

Leave a Reply

