What Powers You?

Presque Isle Power Plant, Marquette Michigan, photo copyright Kim Nixon
It’s true I am fascinated by the two power plants that are part of the Marquette landscape. I think of what they bring us everyday. This is the plant out at Presque Isle. As Mike and I headed down to the shoreline for ice shots, I turned to take a quick shot of the plant.

What powers you? Fuels you?

As I diet and try to think of food not as comfort but simply as energy-in and energy-out. I think often on the concept of what powers me, concentrating on quality fuel.

…from the fridge or pantry

  • apples
  • salads
  • pumpkin seeds
  • carrots
  • black beans
  • stir-fry veggies
  • hormone free chicken
  • low-fat cheese
  • 1% milk
  • honey
  • nut butter
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • sweet potatoes
  • garnet yams
  • kale
  • cukes
  • celery
  • yogurt
  • rice
  • cereal

In Marquette, Michigan our power comes from hyrdo-electric, and coal.  We have been killing the power on as many household items we can on departing the house. A new roof and door help keep us warm and efficient. Compact fluorescent bulbs light up our nights. I drive a car in the winter and with my new job. I used to ride my bike in good weather. Perhaps I will ge to do this again someday. Until then my car takes gasoline.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on February 16, 2009, in Fitness and Weight Loss, In My Own Backyard. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been a lurker here for a bit and just had to come out to comment on this entry… While driving east near Lowe’s one day this winter my 7 yr. old daughter spied the stacks from the upper harbor power plant on the horizon and proclaimed “that is where they make clouds!”

    Being a Marquette resident, I enjoy reading your views and seeing the photos … thanks for sharing !!!

  2. Lana! Thanks for delurking and sharing your daughter’s comment. As I drove home from work in Negaunee I smiled as I saw the smoke stacks today. I was also smiling as the sun was making everything all golden at 5:30 in the evening. The sun was STILL OUT! The stacks were still making clouds, though (smile).

Leave a Reply

