The Push of Coming Spring

Ice off Sunset Beach, Presque Isle, Marquette Michigan--photo by Kim Nixon

I noticed it earlier in the week. The sun reflecting on snow had more yellow, less blue. The angle of light higher, warmer. The melt off roofs forming twisty icicles in the warmer winds. The snow levels going down. The roadsides looking dirty with sand and snow no longer fresh, nor clean.

I started thinking of music festivals and art shows. I started thinking of long hikes on camping trips. Macro shots of moss. Fishing and clicking digi-captures of herons and eagles. I thought how blue in summer is warmer than blue in winter. The days so long they feel like a good stretch, an adjustment of energy. Paths underfoot, soft like massage, healing. The scent of lilac. The song of birds.

I thought…OH CRAP! I am not ready! I do not have my life where it needed to be. I want to be Beth Millner when I grow up! Beth travels creating and selling art. I want that. Check out Beth’s blog and Etsy shop, too. I know life on the road is not idyllic–it is dang hard. But you wake to owls in trees, meet interesting new friends, get teeth pulled in foreign countries (I might skip that part, though).

So, I have to get ready. I need to prepare for that life. Here’s a list of To Dos:

  • Passport
  • Redesign blog and integrate sales whether at an Etsy store or another location.
  • Choose a printer for home, and a commerical printer for sales.
  • Get a digital recorder for doing interviews.
  • Voice recognition software
  • Get PDF software to write ebooklets.
  • Increase freelance assignments.
  • Travel write: build list of ideas/projects, do research of market.
  • Have an exhibit and fundraiser.
  • Build publications.
  • More dependable, younger car.
  • Build savings, pay down debt.
  • Get Adobe CS2 or 3.
  • Purchase a full DSLR camera–begin savings and research.
About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on March 8, 2009, in Abundance, Contours, Flow into 2009, Verge. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This was a great post. I had settled into all of the nostalgia and then SNAP! on to a different topic. Very fun. Good luck with all of your plans!

  2. It you envision it , It is attainable… much luck and love to you …

    Lana

  3. Hi Cindi! How is your winter going? Any trips planned for the Upper Peninsula this summer?

    Hi Lana! Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

