Halloween and the Closest I get to Pausing

halloween_glamourshotVP_1628

It is October 31st and Halloween is often the closest I get to pausing. I even slept 10 hours last night. Instead of running down trails, I cleaned the studio. I am moving into hibernation mode. Preparing for NaNoWriMO. Cleaning the studio. Gathering acorns…or art supplies.

liamupclose-1633

But really the one thing on my mind that took priority over all, was seeing this little Grand Baby Boy on Halloween! This is Liam my two-year-old Grandson. I do not see him enough. I am not the grandmother I planned to be. But I am determined to be more involved. To know more of his world.

liammasked-1613

My mind is quiet when I am with Liam. I focus only on him. Oh and a bit on my daughter–Ceiri’s interactions with Liam are amazing. She is a wonderful Mommie!

Halloween_insearchofhoney_1684 When I visit I feel so blessed and I am in awe and wonder. Even listening to Liam blow full force into a recorder playing only high notes! Even a Liam who is stuck on the word–NO. I am in a gentle time of life where I can let things be, observe and learn just by watching.

When I was a young mommie I had three toddlers under four years of age. I was in constant motion. I was young, impatient. And life seemd hard. I was not the mommie I wanted to be.

I can do better, now.

As Grandma Kim.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 31, 2009, in Becoming Grandma and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dear Kim,
    That must be such a joy to be around your grandon and watch him be.
    He looks like he is having fun in his costume!
    Happy November Art Every Day. :)

  2. Lovely post. Time to *just be* is what we all need :-)

  3. Ana, My grandson is very much into pretending. He was searching for honey! I am not sure how much time I will have to just be in the month of November. Grin. I have a full-plate and I don’t mean yams and stuffing! ;-)

Leave a Reply

