11/5 Art Every Day Month–Announcements!

The new issue of All Things Girl went live today. The November/December 2009 issue has the theme, Harmony. It is a very special them for me as the photo, Prayer Flags,  that appears in the art’s section, was taken when I was on retreat.

I took part in a writer’s retreat at the Joy Center in Ishpeming to reaffirm my role as a creator. I was finding  myself (again) as artist. I was surprised at the words moving back in time. I was going thru “old stuff.” The sludge we think we took time to process and here it was again. Murky.

You know when on retreat you’d like to have revelations of light, hope, and go forth with joy. Yet I was caught between Joy and Angst. Grasping for H-A-R-M-O-N-Y. (Just where was it?)

The Editor-in-Chief, Deb Smouse, contacted me soon after the retreat asking if I would be interested in coming on board as one of the Zine’s Art Editors. This issue, “Harmony” is the first where I appear on the mast-head. The first issue I will be in charge of as Art Editor will be March/April Issue and the Theme is–On Being a Girl. You can submit artwork on this theme thru the website or join the All Things Girl Flickr group and submit thru the discussions.

One more announcement to make! I will be appearing at the Holistic Health Fair on Saturday November 7th, 2009. The HHF is at Upfront & Company from 10-4pm in their banquet room. If you happen to be in the Marquette area stop-in, admission is only $2.00.

(My creative acts for November 5, 2009 were in creating my dsiplay for the HHF & seeing the fruition of my artistic efforts in my new position at All Things Girl).

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 6, 2009, in Abundance, Art Every Day Month and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

