11/22 AEDM–Reflective

vio_selfport1a-2335

I love that feeling of openness. The little voice in my head said quick turn here and I pulled into the parking lot near Viosport and walked to the back up a parking ramp. There I was surprised by my reflection. I am still getting used to this “me.”

When you have been overweight for over 2 decades. You are shocked looking at photos of the heavy you. I liked to think of myself as the Young Kim at her ideal weight and was always shocked at photos of the Heavy Kim.

Now, I am shocked at the Skinny Kim, cause she is not that teenager at her ideal weight. I am a mature woman, a grandmother, and fit. It is all a bit surreal.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 22, 2009, in A Runner's World, I Lost 45 @ 45, Memory and Memoir and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can relate to this. For the longest while after I gained weight, I thought of myself in my head as the young, thin me. Now, with all this weight on for a while now, I expect to see the “chubby” me. The frustrating part for me is that I”m pretty fit. I did a 20 mile hike (with hills!) this last weekend, but I haven’t been able to lose weight (mostly due to thyroid). Anyway, your weight loss inspires me and I keep trying! :)

  2. I am glad that I can inspire. For many many years, I too, could not lose.

Leave a Reply

