Winter Shores

Photo: Kim Nixon
Superior Shores, Presque Isle, Marquette MI
Post-Processed: LR, PSE with VP Actions (Ambiant)

How do you approach the shore? As a child I approached two different ways. If in the presence of others, cousins, summer friends, aunts and uncles, parents or grandparents, I rushed in. Running full-steam all knees and elbows and a splash was soon to follow. When alone, I was a whisper, trying to not move the tiny grains of sand. Walking lighter than a feather. Attempting to leave no trace of myself, not even a shadow. I was magic and no one knew but the shore.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on January 31, 2010, in Contours, Magic Lands, Memory and Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This post makes me think about how I need to get to the shore all by myself and be that magic you speak of. I always have people with me. I need to go there by myself.

  2. Maybe you can trade “sitting” with someone. Have them watch your children while you viist the shore and then you return the favor. I know it is hard though–who to trust the kids with, but you’ve been making this trip for a couple or more summers, correct? Have you developed some relationships where you could do this?

Leave a Reply

