I can get up, but not down (easily)

ptiroquois_spiral_4_25_2010-6355
Point Iroquois Light, Spiral Stairs (Bay Mills, Michigan)

I can get up (if I don’t look down). I can spiral to great heights (if I don’t look down). I can even with some courage wiggle up thru a portal door with low head clearance and come up, rise up, to the view. To the miracle of distance, heighten perspectives and even perceptions. But down? I cannot go back down. I struggle and clench the ice-cold cast iron and brass railings (with both fists) until the cold hurts my hands and I find a mantra. “This is an irrational fear. . .This is an irrational fear. . .This is an irrational fear.” Until I am down and out and breathing the warm air outside the lighthouse tower.

You can read more on the Point Iroquois Light here.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Contours, Ordinary Day, Photography, Travel, Verge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have a bit of a fear as well. BUT, my three year old loves them. So, for him I climb up them and then down again, clutching his hand and the rail for dear life.

  2. wat is yo myspace name

  3. I do not have one, sorry.

  4. So intricate with lovely light & texture. Almost like vintage lace.

Leave a Reply

