Found Altars, Sacred Spaces

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mike was still asleep when I woke in the cold pop-up camper so I slid my shoes on quietly and in jammies went down the steep incline to the beach. The waves were calm, the morning mostly gray, the sun not having burnt off the mist and cloud cover. I came across a found altar. It was Sunday morning. I said my prayers and climbed back up a very steep incline to the campground above.

We camped at the Presque Isle Campground within the Porcupine Mountain State Park. It was only a two-day trip that started late on a Saturday but it helped me put the stresses I was feeling in the background. I came home with resolve to change, to slow it down, to take my healing to the next level.

Found altars can be a gathering of stones on a beach, or a space where you feel centered. This trip reminded me that I need to seek that space more frequently. Where is your “altar”?

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on October 19, 2010, in Abundance, Nature Photography, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well, unfortunately for me, it’s Lake Superior (especially where it is rocky or very turquoise). That means I have to use the rivers and woods downstate and put more effort into the contemplation. It still works, just doesn’t leave me feeling the same glow.

  2. I fell in love with moss all over again, yesterday. Tonight they are predicting flurries.

  3. I love trails with moss on them. Usually, it’s just a small length of trail, but I love how it feels underfoot and how it looks too.

Leave a Reply

