Day Three–NaNoWriMo and Art Every Day Month

In My Own Backyard--Dogwood

Excerpt:
What is your home? Is it a shelter made of wood or brick? Or is it more than a shelter. Is it the people in the shelter you share the space with? Or is it a sense of you, a self that is comfortable enough to let others come close and share in moments.

And are you comfortable enough with self to allow others to share with you? Can you breathe air with another and not feel stifled or suppressed?

At work do you feel suppressed or are you strong enough in the stance of your being to be rooted and unshaken?

I want more strong days. I am thinking of my core like xylem and phloem in a tree. I want sap to flow strong from root to leaf.

My dogwood just beyond the deck has found itself. The many colors of its being radiate in all weather. The snows will come and blanket the street where the crow calls me in the morning. The dogwood will watch how I listen. Witness the days unfolding.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 3, 2010, in Art Every Day Month, In My Own Backyard, NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

