Ice forming…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Each step I take brings me into deeper healing, brings me back to poetry, opens my heart to sky!

It was just a short walk today…from camp to water’s edge. I jogged back up the hill, though. This weekend I refused to rush myself. I did little of what I had planned and I slept a lot.

On the ride to camp, I read poetry by Russel Thorburn from his book, “The Whole Tree as Told to the Backyard”

I love these lines:

At my typewriter close to the window/the cold earned its right to be a metaphor,/but none could be found as we heard/the tree crouching in its dreams.

We took things from the yard and garage (at Craig Street) to camp for winter storage. We brought home wood for the garage woodstove. I picked up buckets and pots. Found three small pumpkins in the garden.

We dropped lumber at Michael and Beth’s home, too.

Dinner was re-warmed roast chicken and I smoothed yesterday’s leftover mashed potatoes into a casserole dish and baked them until slightly crusty.

Now, I have little energy for anything else.

I feel ice forming. It’s below 30-degrees. I am ready for an afghan and more poetry.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 21, 2010, in Abundance, Contours, Creative Inspirations, Magic Lands, Memory and Memoir, Nature Photography, Nature Writing, Ordinary Day, Water Worlds, Woods and Water and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OMG ..these photos are awesome..I expecially like the dogwood leaf…what color…! and the ice is amazing..

Leave a Reply

