2 Days in Gwinn & All I Got Was…

Two days in Gwinn and all I got was this rainy, through the windshiled while driving, photo! Oh and two days of cross-training at Lakeside, a Gwinn Adult Foster Care Home. I also had a marvelous walk on a spring day, Monday. Tuesday’s drive was full of rain and fog.

My gas tank was riding empty, again, but I was drawn out to Presque Isle in Marquette, Michigan where stormy waves crashed over the breakwall and rocks lining Lakeshore Blvd. Two ore boats were at the dock, riding high and empty and in no hurry to head out. One lone runner ran head-long into the wind, dressed in a red and black jacket with hood up, looking strong.

I was cold, no rain gear, but had to get a photo of the day. Hoping I caught something good, I then headed downtown, spilled the contents of my change purse on the counter at Farmer Q’s and counted up quarters, nickles, and dimes to buy produce for tonight’s dinner.

All-in-all, it was an ordinary wet cold day full of grey, tiny splashes of color like tiny sleet pellets, attention getting and not quite focused through the rain-blurred windshield.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Ordinary Day. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Whenever we were in the U.P. and hear that there would be waves, I had everyone pile in the van to head to the black rocks in Marquette. There is something about watching the power of the lake…

  2. I should have had a tripod with me and headed to the other side of the island–they were surfing out there!

  3. Oh, it seems like Mary or someone did take some photos of that recently.

Leave a Reply

