Wishcating Wednesday–Who do you wish to have tea with?

Tea Cups at the Butler Theatre, Ishpeming Michigan

Who do you wish to have tea with?

I used to work at the Marquette Food Cooperative in Marquette, Michigan and Michael Hainstock (the Younger) used to be in charge of stocking the bulk tea herbs. Michael was very into learning about the herbs and blending them to suit your needs. I was working both as a grocery and produce worker. Working with produce can be chilling work and a mug of tea served in one of Ryan Dalman’s mugs was perfect to keep me healthy and warm.

Michael the Younger and I would hike and look for sources of herbs. His father’s garage was filled with drying herbs. There were mason jars everywhere. If someone at home started to get the sniffles Michael would steep herbs strong. Tea balls, muslim bags, tea presses. I learned tea is not just a dainty thing in pretty delicate tea cups. Tea can be a “spell” brewed for a purpose.

I fell in love with Michael’s father Mike the Elder. And then Michael the Younger fell in love with Beth Millner who is a silversmith and jewelry artist. They now have a hobby farm in Marquette Township called Badger Creek Farm. I miss hiking with Michael the Younger and I miss his tea (smile). Being family we ought to have more time together.

My wish is for me to get my butt out to the farm and have tea with Michael the Younger.

You can join Jamie Ridler and others to be a maker of magic and a tender of wishes. It’s easy. Answer the wish prompt above on your blog and then add a direct link to your post in the box below. Support wishes by visiting other participants, leaving a comment saying “As (insert name) wishes for her/himself, so I wish for her/him also.” It’s that simple. There is great power in wishing together.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too!

  2. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  3. What a LOVELY story!! & the tea cups – oh my!! I wish I had that cobalt blue & white one in the middle! I also brew teas, infusions, grow herbs abundantly …. what a beautiful picture you paint!

    I wish you tea with Michael the Younger SOON!

  4. I loved learning about your experience with tea and Michael. I do hope you get to spend some time with him at the farm. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  5. Ohhhh, I really really like this one.

    As you wish for yourself, dear Kim, so I wish for you also…..

    (I love the tea cup visual!)

  6. Hello Kim! I got in the mood to search my past this morning and was lucky enough to come across your website. As a child I was a regular summer person in National Mine in the 50’s and 60’s visiting my grandparents that lived right on the “main drag” of town. When I think of my memories from those days there is still a surreal quality to them, the smell of ore in the air, the tiny gas station across the street from my grandparents and the overall quiet. Most surreal was the tragedy of the family next door to my relatives. There was a native American family that had moved in next door to grandpa and grandma one year that had 8 children. While my brother and sister and I never got to play with them, the very next year we were told they (the whole family) had died in a fire. I wish I still had the opportunity to visit the U.P. and do some researching (not to much getting caught up with my cousin still living in Ishpeming) but Phoenix, Az is a looong way off. Anyway, great photos Kim and thanks for reading this. Robert

  7. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  8. Robert Allen :
    Hello Kim! I got in the mood to search my past this morning and was lucky enough to come across your website. As a child I was a regular summer person in National Mine in the 50′s and 60′s visiting my grandparents that lived right on the “main drag” of town. When I think of my memories from those days there is still a surreal quality to them, the smell of ore in the air, the tiny gas station across the street from my grandparents and the overall quiet. Most surreal was the tragedy of the family next door to my relatives. There was a native American family that had moved in next door to grandpa and grandma one year that had 8
    children. While my brother and sister and I never got to play with them, the very next year we were told they (the whole family) had died in a fire. I wish I still had the opportunity to visit the U.P. and do some researching (not to mention getting caught up with my cousin still living in Ishpeming) but Phoenix, Az is a looong way off. Anyway, great photos Kim and thanks for reading this. Robert

  9. What a great story! Get out there and have tea!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

Leave a Reply

