Wishcasting Wednesday–Treasures

What treasures do you wish for?

A long healthy life!

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2010, during what some call Spring and we in the Upper Peninsula call Winter, I felt cursed.

As a teenager, I had endless infections: tonsillitis, bronchitis, and pneumonia. I was told I had IBS in my 20s. My doctor told me I had Chronic Fatigue in 2000.

In 2004, I had to close my massage due to a slow to heal injury.

I had to walk away from my next job as well.

And another.

(You get the idea).

My list of symptoms, long.

My list of options, short.

Today is a new day. Thanks to a clear diagnosis.

Each day I feel stronger. I find more mental clarity. I feel nourished. My endurance is wonderful. I’m not fatigued. Healing is such a blessing. I am looking forward to the day I reopen my practice. It might be a slightly different plan, but I’ll get there!

The treasures of this life come from the experiences that have shaped my reality and views on life. Healing is a daily event. We are active participants in the process. We have to be. It is the way to discover the course of action, navigate the ups-and-downs, and make it to the next shore.

My 4-year-old grandson likes pirates. I like sword fights. We are caught up in the possibilities of the open sea, treasures, and spitting into the wind. I think he and I really do believe we can fly. He takes a leap off the bed. I take a leap from one point to the other (quite frequently), too.

Funny that I bring up pirates? (Raise of my eyebrows.)

We steal moments of truth and freedom between the hard spots, the diagnosis, the somewhat pessimistic comments of doctors and others. We have to see the gold sparkle as the healing surfaces like a treasure in a deep cave filled with tide. It is the patience and the make-believe that keep hope shining.

I see abundance in a chest of experiences and creative projects. I see it in the touch of hearts and hands. Deep in that chest of treasure are smiles, hugs, and laughter. Deep Comforts!

Will you sail with me?

(Stay tuned for new adventures with Create with Kim!)

You can be a maker of magic and a tender of wishes. It’s easy with Jamie Ridler Studios!

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Amen Sister! As you wish for yourself, I soooooo wish for you also. xoxo Beth

  2. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well. ♥

  3. To enjoying your road to recovery! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  4. Wooohoooo! I love the idea of a treasure chest of smiles and deep comforts. Of healing and wholeness and beauty despite – or even along with – the hard spots.

    May you find all of the treasures you seek in your journey of adventure, Kim – as you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  5. Ahoy Kim!
    Great to read you feel stronger by the day.
    As Kim wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

