Staying Fully Charged

Being an artist with a full-time day-job is a challenge. Finding the time to make the “dream” a reality means carving out time and energy. Having a day-planner and a big pad of sketch paper helps me to maintain focus. On Monday’s I review the week, plan for recharging and nourishing of my mind and body, and add at least one must-do for the week. That must-do item is a task that will move my photography forward such as order photos, business cards, or look for exhibitions in which to submit my photography. We’ll talk more about must-do motions in a coming blog post, for now let’s discuss staying fully charged.

In my current job, I rarely work a 5-day workweek followed by a weekend; getting two-days off in a row can be a challenge. To stay full-charged means dipping into the well for a refreshing drink each day. It keeps me creative.

After a particular stressful 4-day work stretch I needed to let go of some negative energy, and creating is a great release. I came home to gear-up for a photo-walk and almost gave in to the pull of the couch, but I put on an extra layer of clothing, my boots, and headed out to a world of white.

Dead River, Forestville ~ Photographer Kim Nixon

I often find putting my feet upon the earth and following my intuition starts a healing conversation. Maybe this is some Yoda-like energy charge, like The Force in Star Wars. Regardless, some connection is achieved, and usually a few worthy photos are captured in the process.

How do you stay full-charged? Please share a comment.

About kimnixon

Upper Peninsula Michigan Artist and Writer

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Creative Inspirations, Nature Photography, Woods and Water and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

